Archive for the ‘News’ Category

Pedlar Press: gutsy & gorgeous for twenty years

Monday, August 22nd, 2016

Pedlar Press will celebrate its 20th anniversary
on Thursday DECEMBER 8 at The Ship, St John’s NL, 8PM

and at two St John’s house salons:

Friday DECEMBER 9 at 7PM (potluck with readings and talk)
Saturday DECEMBER 10 at 2PM (potluck with more readings and more talk)

People are FRIGHTENED of themselves

Readings and launches

Thursday, July 28th, 2016

Thursday 15 September at 6PM Stan Dragland launching at Fishers’ Loft Inn, Port Rexton NL

Sunday 18 September at 2PM Stan Dragland with Liz Hay at The Book Shop, Tamworth ON

Thursday 22 September at 8PM Craig Francis Power launching at The Ship Inn, St John’s NL

September 27 Craig Francis Power at THIN AIR, Winnipeg MB

October 31 Stan Dragland with Mack Furlong at Pages UnBound, Toronto

March 2017 Craig Francis Power & Stan Dragland at The March Hare Festival

The essays of Virginia Woolf

Wednesday, June 22nd, 2016

I do think that there are works that everyone should read because they tell us who we are as human beings living in history. I would start with the Bible, the Odyssey and the Iliad, the works of Sophocles, Chaucer, Shakespeare. I think everyone should read David Copperfield, Middlemarch, Wuthering Heights, the essays of Virginia Woolf, not only because they will — by a sort of osmosis — improve one’s prose style, but because they can also sharpen one’s ability to think logically, to follow an argument and understand a complex sentence.   —Francine Prose

Unknown   imagesUnknown-1

Soraya Peerbaye, TELL: Poems For A Girlhood, Winner 2016 Trillium Book Award for Poetry, Finalist 2016 Griffin Poetry Prize

Wednesday, May 25th, 2016
Soraya Peerbaye, Toronto, Tell: poems for a girlhood, Pedlar Press

Reena Virk was a girl of South Asian descent who was murdered on November 14th, 1997, in Saanich, British Columbia. At least eight young people participated in the initial assault, while more looked on. Seven of her assailants were girls; five were white. Virk rose from that beating and walked north across a bridge toward home. Her drowned body was found in the Gorge Waterway. In Tell: poems for a girlhood, without a trace of sentimentality and with heart-wrenching courage, Soraya Peerbaye gathers evidence into an entire poetic vision of contemporary adolescent fury and angst.

S Peerbaye Soraya Peerbaye’s first collection of poetry, Poems for the Advisory Committee on Antarctic Names, was nominated for the Gerald Lampert Award. Her poems have appeared in Red Silk: An Anthology of South Asian Women Poets, as well as the literary journals Other Voices, Prairie Fire and The New Quarterly; she has also contributed to the chapbook anthology Translating Horses. She holds an MFA in Creative Writing from the University of Guelph. Peerbaye lives in Toronto with her husband and daughter.

More nominations

Sunday, May 22nd, 2016

Sara Tilley’s novel Duke was nominated for the 2016 NL Book Awards.